- No official Certified Food Associate pass rate is publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The exam is 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes, with a 70% passing score.
- Food Service Operations is the largest question group at 20 of 80 questions.
- A basic four-function calculator is allowed, which matters for the 4 Food Service Math questions.
CFA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows
Key Takeaways
- No official Certified Food Associate pass rate is publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The exam is 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes, with a 70% passing score.
- Food Service Operations is the largest question group at 20 of 80 questions.
- A basic four-function calculator is allowed, which matters for the 4 Food Service Math questions.
- The handbook describes a 14-day retest wait, but its retake fee language is inconsistent, so confirm with IFSEA.
Searching for the Certified Food Associate pass rate usually ends in frustration. Forums quote confident-sounding percentages, third-party sites repeat them, and none of it traces back to the issuer. This article explains what is genuinely known about how the exam is built and scored, why an authoritative pass rate does not exist in public, and how to use the published structure to estimate your own readiness instead.
What the Issuer Actually Publishes
The Certified Food Associate credential comes from the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA), with the exam administered through the Foodservice Institute under an IFSEA/GFI partnership. The official exam link runs through ClassMarker. What IFSEA publishes falls into three buckets:
- Format facts: 80 multiple-choice questions, 75 minutes, 70% to pass, basic four-function calculator permitted.
- Content facts: eight question-makeup groups with published counts totaling 80, plus twelve supplementary exam-specification topics.
- Logistics facts: a current price of $119 (or $122.57 with the stated 3% card fee), a 60-day purchase-to-completion window, a required proctor, and an integrity form.
What is missing from that list is any observed outcome data: how many people sit the exam, how many pass, or how scores are distributed. That absence is the single most important fact about the "pass rate" question, and it shapes everything else in this article.
Why No Pass Rate Exists Publicly
There are practical reasons a pass rate may never have been compiled or released for this credential.
An entry-level, open-access design
The current IFSEA program has no experience requirement and is designed for entry-level candidates. A credential built to be broadly accessible tends to attract a varied candidate pool, including students, line staff, career changers, and supervisors formalizing existing knowledge. When the population is that mixed, a single headline pass rate would say little about any individual's chances anyway. You can review the full eligibility picture in CFA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Self-paced, proctored delivery
Candidates purchase the exam and complete it within a 60-day window, with a proctor present and study assistance prohibited. Delivery is spread across individual schedules rather than fixed national sittings, which makes the cohort-style pass statistics some exams publish less natural here. The 60 days is the time you have to start and finish after purchase, not the exam duration; the clock on the exam itself is 75 minutes. For scheduling details see CFA Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Unverified scoring details
The scored versus unscored question split has not been verified, and the observed pass rate is likewise unverified. Without those, even a candidate-reported figure cannot be interpreted reliably.
The Numbers That Are Published: Format and Passing Score
Since outcomes are undisclosed, the published scoring mechanics are the most useful quantitative anchor you have.
| Exam Element | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 80 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | 75 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Calculator | Basic four-function calculator allowed |
| Supervision | Proctor required; study assistance prohibited (closed-book) |
| Completion window | 60 days from purchase |
| Current price | $119, or $122.57 with the stated 3% card fee |
| Official pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
At 70% on 80 questions, the arithmetic is straightforward if all 80 are scored: you would need 56 correct answers. Because the scored/unscored split is unverified, treat 56 as a planning target rather than a guaranteed cutoff, and aim above it. The 75-minute timer works out to under a minute per question on average, which is comfortable for knowledge-recall items but tighter if you linger on calculation questions. A deeper breakdown lives in CFA Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Reading Difficulty From the Question Map
Without a pass rate, the best proxy for difficulty is the structure of the exam itself. The handbook publishes an 80-question distribution across eight groups. These are question counts, not official percentage weights, and no percentage weights are asserted here.
| Question Group | Published Questions |
|---|---|
| Food Service Operations | 20 |
| Food Safety | 12 |
| Customer Service | 10 |
| Nutrition | 10 |
| Operational Employee Safety | 10 |
| Culinary Arts | 8 |
| HACCP | 6 |
| Food Service Math | 4 |
| Total | 80 |
Two observations follow directly from this map. First, the exam is breadth-heavy: eight groups mean no single weak area can be fully ignored, because each contributes at least four questions. Second, Food Service Operations alone accounts for 20 of the 80 questions, a quarter of the exam by count. Candidates who are strong in operations and safety can absorb weaker performance in the smaller groups, while someone who is only strong in culinary topics faces a harder path. For how candidates typically perceive this, read How Hard Is the CFA Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Where Candidates Gain and Lose Points
Since no failure statistics exist by domain, what follows is analysis of the published scope, not reported results. Each block below explains what the topic demands and why it matters to your score.
Food Service Operations (20 questions)
The heaviest group, and the one most likely to decide your result. The handbook's twelve supplementary specification topics, which are listed without weights or an explicit mapping to the eight groups, read like an operations syllabus.
- Labor laws (federal), personnel management, and leadership
- Communication skills and standard operating procedures
- Purchasing, inventory, and cost accounting
- Financial management and strategic planning
Food Safety and HACCP (12 + 6 questions)
Together these two groups represent 18 questions. Candidates working in kitchens often feel confident here, but the exam rewards precise terminology and the structure of a HACCP system, not just practical habits.
- Know HACCP as a systematic framework, not a vocabulary list
- Keep food safety principles distinct from HACCP planning concepts
Food Service Math (4 questions)
Small by count, but it is the group most likely to surprise candidates who avoid numbers. The permitted four-function calculator helps with arithmetic, though it will not help you if you do not know which calculation the question wants. Cost accounting and inventory topics from the specification list overlap naturally with this area.
Customer Service, Nutrition, Employee Safety, and Culinary Arts (10 + 10 + 10 + 8 questions)
These four groups total 38 questions, nearly half the exam. They are individually moderate but collectively decisive. Nutrition and culinary arts also appear in the supplementary topic list, suggesting terminology-level coverage. A closer look at all eight areas is in CFA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.
Key Takeaway
Because the exam is built from eight groups with no single dominant one outside operations, the safest plan is to secure Food Service Operations first, then bring every other group up to a dependable baseline. A 70% cutoff over 80 questions rewards consistency across the board more than brilliance in one corner.
Retakes, Renewal, and What They Imply
Retest policy: partly clear, partly contradictory
The handbook consistently specifies a 14-day wait before a retest. On cost, though, it contradicts itself: one section describes one free retest followed by a $99 charge, while another charges for every attempt. The handbook also lists older terms ($99 pricing, scheduling within one year, a manager/director prerequisite) that conflict with the live IFSEA pages. Where they conflict, the current live pages take precedence, which is why this article uses the $119 price, 60-day window, and no-experience-requirement figures. Current retake fees and any included free retest need confirmation directly from the issuer before you pay. Full cost context is in CFA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Renewal by retaking the exam
Per the handbook, certification is valid for five years and renews by retaking the exam with at least 70%, rather than by accumulating a fixed number of continuing education units. The handbook also describes a 90-day expiry grace period. Current renewal fees are unverified, and the PDF's metadata is dated July 2022, so this is handbook-derived information rather than a confirmed 2026 revision. Practically, it means the exam is not a one-time hurdle: the knowledge you build now has to be refreshed within five years.
A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence
Rather than a generic study calendar, order your preparation by where points sit in the published map. This sequence assumes a roughly four-week window inside your 60-day purchase period; adjust it to your background.
Food Service Operations
- Work through the twelve specification topics: labor law, personnel, leadership, purchasing, inventory, cost accounting
- This is the biggest block at 20 of 80 questions, so it earns the first and longest session
Food Safety, HACCP, and Employee Safety
- Cover the 28 combined questions across these three groups
- Separate food safety principles from HACCP system structure
Nutrition, Culinary Arts, Customer Service, and Math
- Terminology drills for nutrition and culinary arts
- Practice Food Service Math with a four-function calculator so the tool is familiar
Timed mixed practice
- Simulate 80 questions in 75 minutes under closed-book conditions
- Target comfortably above the 56-correct planning figure before you start your exam window
For a complete walkthrough of resources and pacing, see the CFA Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and use the CFA Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, the CFA practice tests are built around these same eight groups.
What to do with the uncertainty
The absence of a pass rate cuts both ways. It means you cannot be falsely reassured by a high number, and you cannot be needlessly scared by a low one. The 70% threshold, the 80-question length, and the 75-minute clock are the real constraints. Your own timed practice scores against that standard are far more informative than any secondhand statistic. If you are weighing whether the credential justifies the effort, Is the CFA Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 covers that side of the decision, and CFA Jobs looks at where the credential tends to be used. You can also return to the main practice test site to start a baseline attempt.
Frequently Asked Questions
It is not publicly disclosed by IFSEA. Any specific percentage you find online is unverified and may belong to a different credential that also uses the CFA acronym. The published facts are the 70% passing score, 80 questions, and 75-minute time limit.
The passing score is 70%. If all 80 questions are scored, that equals 56 correct answers. The handbook's scored versus unscored split is unverified, so aim well above 56 in practice.
Food Service Operations, with 20 of the 80 published questions. Food Safety follows with 12, then Customer Service, Nutrition, and Operational Employee Safety at 10 each. These are question counts, not official percentage weights.
The handbook specifies a 14-day wait before a retest, but its fee language is inconsistent: one section mentions one free retest then $99, another charges every attempt. Confirm current retake charges with IFSEA before paying.
The current IFSEA program lists no experience requirement and is designed for entry-level candidates. A proctor and integrity form are required, and the exam is closed-book. Older handbook language about a manager or director prerequisite conflicts with the live pages and is not used as a current requirement.