- What the Certified Food Associate Credential Actually Is
- Eligibility at a Glance: Who Can Sit the Exam
- Older Handbook Terms vs. Current Issuer Pages
- Registration, Payment, and the 60-Day Window
- Proctor and Integrity Form Requirements
- Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
- Content Requirements: The Eight Question Groups
- Supplementary Scope: Twelve Specification Topics
- Who Should Apply and Who Hires for It
- Keeping the Credential: Validity, Renewal, and Retakes
- A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current IFSEA program lists no experience requirement for the Certified Food Associate exam; it is built for entry-level candidates.
- You pay $119 (or $122.57 with the 3% card fee) and must finish within 60 days of purchase.
- The exam is 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes, with a 70% passing score and a basic four-function calculator allowed.
- A proctor and a signed integrity form are required, and study assistance is prohibited during the closed-book exam.
What the Certified Food Associate Credential Actually Is
Certified Food Associate is an entry-level foodservice credential offered through the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA). The exam is administered by the Foodservice Institute with an IFSEA/GFI partnership, and the official exam link runs through the ClassMarker testing platform. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainer on what CFA certification is covers the basics, and what CFA stands for clears up the naming.
This article is about requirements: who can take the exam, what you must do before and during it, and what you need to know to pass. Because this credential is aimed at people early in a foodservice career, the barriers to entry are deliberately low. The real gatekeeping happens in the exam itself, which tests a broad spread of operational knowledge, from sanitation to cost math.
Eligibility at a Glance: Who Can Sit the Exam
The current IFSEA program page lists no experience requirement. You do not need a set number of years in the industry, a degree, or a supervisory title to register. The credential is designed for entry-level candidates, which makes it accessible to students, line cooks, servers, hosts, prep staff, and career changers entering foodservice.
What has not been verified from public sources is any degree requirement, any minimum training-hour quota, or any reference or sponsor requirement. Rather than guess, treat those as not required unless IFSEA tells you otherwise when you register. If a hiring manager or school program asks whether you qualify, the safe, accurate answer is that the current issuer pages publish no experience prerequisite.
| Requirement | Current Status |
|---|---|
| Work experience | None required on the current IFSEA page |
| Target candidate | Entry-level foodservice candidates |
| Degree | Not verified as a requirement |
| Training-hour or reference quotas | Not verified |
| Proctor | Required |
| Integrity form | Required |
| Member/non-member pricing tier | None currently published |
Older Handbook Terms vs. Current Issuer Pages
This is the section that saves candidates the most confusion. The candidate handbook that remains linked from the issuer's site contains terms that conflict with the live program pages. The handbook lists a $99 fee, scheduling within one year, and a manager or director prerequisite. The live IFSEA pages instead state $119, completion within 60 days of purchase, and no experience requirement.
Where the two disagree, the live pages take precedence. The handbook's PDF metadata is dated July 2022, and nothing establishes that it reflects a 2026 revision, so treat its older administrative terms as legacy language rather than current rules. If you have downloaded the handbook and see a manager prerequisite, do not assume you are disqualified.
Registration, Payment, and the 60-Day Window
The current offer is a combined training and exam price of $119. If you pay by card, a stated 3% card fee brings the total to $122.57. No separate member versus non-member price is currently published, so you should not expect a discount tier based on IFSEA membership unless the checkout page shows one. For a deeper look at total spend, see our CFA certification cost breakdown.
The 60-day figure is easy to misread. It is the window between purchase and completion, not the length of the test. Once you buy, you have 60 days to complete the exam. The test itself is a separate 75-minute sitting. Because of that window, do not purchase until you have lined up a proctor and cleared a block of study time; paying early starts a clock you cannot pause.
- Review the current program page at ifsea.org and confirm the price and window.
- Arrange an eligible proctor before you purchase.
- Pay the $119 fee (plus the 3% card fee if paying by card).
- Complete the integrity form.
- Sit the exam within 60 days of purchase.
For scheduling specifics, our guide to CFA exam dates and scheduling goes deeper on how the window works in practice.
Proctor and Integrity Form Requirements
Two administrative requirements apply to every candidate: a proctor and a signed integrity form. The exam is closed-book under supervision, and the official pages prohibit study assistance. That means no notes, no outside help, and no one coaching you through questions while you test. The only tool the handbook permits is a basic four-function calculator, which matters for the cost and portion calculations in the math-oriented questions.
Current remote-supervision arrangements, meaning whether and how a proctor can supervise by video rather than in person, remain unverified. Do not assume online proctoring is available. Check the IFSEA proctoring page or contact the issuer before purchase, since the proctor requirement is non-negotiable and you do not want to buy the exam before you can satisfy it. The general range of proctor presence described on the proctoring page does not replace the credential-specific 75-minute timer, so do not confuse the two.
Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
The handbook specifies the structure below. Knowing it in advance is itself a requirement for efficient preparation, because pacing is part of the challenge.
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 80 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | 75 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Calculator | Basic four-function calculator permitted |
| Open or closed book | Closed book, supervised |
| Scored/unscored split | Unverified |
| Observed pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
At 80 questions in 75 minutes you have a little under a minute per question, so you cannot linger. The pass mark is 70%, which our CFA passing score guide unpacks further. Because the pass rate is not publicly disclosed, any figure you see quoted elsewhere is not backed by an official source; read our CFA pass rate analysis for what can and cannot be said. For a realistic read on difficulty, see how hard the CFA exam is.
Content Requirements: The Eight Question Groups
The handbook publishes how its 80 questions are distributed across eight groups. These are question counts, not percentage weights, and no official percentage weights are published. Still, the counts tell you exactly where the points are.
| Question Group | Questions (of 80) |
|---|---|
| Food Service Operations | 20 |
| Food Safety | 12 |
| Customer Service | 10 |
| Nutrition | 10 |
| Operational Employee Safety | 10 |
| Culinary Arts | 8 |
| HACCP | 6 |
| Food Service Math | 4 |
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to all 8 CFA content areas. The short version of what each requires:
Food Service Operations (20 questions)
The single biggest group, equal to a quarter of the exam. Expect questions about running a foodservice workflow rather than cooking a dish.
- Standard operating procedures and consistent execution
- Purchasing and inventory handling
- Day-to-day management and scheduling concepts
Food Safety and HACCP (12 + 6 questions)
Together these account for 18 of 80 questions, so safe handling is the most heavily tested theme after operations.
- Foodborne illness prevention and personal hygiene
- Temperature control and cross-contamination
- HACCP as a structured, preventive system for identifying and controlling hazards
Customer Service (10 questions)
Tests how you handle guests, complaints, and communication in a service setting.
- Responding to guest concerns professionally
- Communication and teamwork on the floor
Nutrition (10 questions)
Foundational nutrition as it applies to menus and guests.
- Nutrient basics and dietary considerations
- How preparation choices affect nutritional value
Operational Employee Safety (10 questions)
Workplace safety for staff, distinct from food safety for guests.
- Preventing injuries in kitchens and dining areas
- Safe equipment use and workplace hazard awareness
Culinary Arts (8 questions) and Food Service Math (4 questions)
Culinary Arts covers cooking terminology and technique; Food Service Math is the smallest group but rewards anyone comfortable with simple calculations using the permitted four-function calculator.
- Culinary terminology and methods
- Basic quantity, portion, and cost arithmetic
Key Takeaway
Operations, Food Safety, and HACCP together cover 38 of the 80 questions. Prioritize those before polishing the smaller groups, but do not skip Food Service Math: four questions can decide a borderline score at a 70% cutoff.
Supplementary Scope: Twelve Specification Topics
Beyond the eight question groups, the handbook lists twelve Online Exam Specifications topics. These come without separate weights and without an explicit mapping to the eight groups, so treat them as supplementary scope rather than a second blueprint. They are: Labor Laws (Federal), Personnel Management, Leadership, Communication Skills, Purchasing, Inventory, Cost Accounting, Standard Operating Procedures, Financial Management, Strategic Planning, Nutrition, and Culinary Arts.
The practical reading is that the exam leans toward the management side of foodservice, even though the credential is entry-level. A candidate should be comfortable with ideas like federal labor basics, leading and communicating with a team, tracking inventory, and understanding how cost accounting and financial management connect to daily decisions. You do not need to master advanced finance, but you should recognize the vocabulary and the logic. No formal blueprint revision date has been established, so build your prep around both lists rather than waiting for an updated outline.
Who Should Apply and Who Hires for It
Because there is no experience gate, the credential suits several groups: culinary and hospitality students seeking a résumé differentiator, front-of-house staff moving toward supervision, kitchen workers who want formal recognition of what they know, and career changers entering foodservice. Employers in restaurants, institutional dining, catering, and other foodservice operations are the natural audience, though the credential is best understood as a signal of baseline competence rather than a guarantee of a particular role. Browse our notes on CFA-related jobs for how it fits into hiring, and see the CFA salary guide and ROI analysis before deciding whether the fee makes sense for your situation. No salary figures are asserted here because none are verified.
Keeping the Credential: Validity, Renewal, and Retakes
The handbook states that certification is valid for five years and is renewed by retaking the exam with at least 70%. It does not impose a fixed continuing-education quota, so renewal is exam-based rather than a matter of logging CEU hours. The handbook also describes a 90-day expiry grace period. This information is handbook-derived, not a verified 2026 revision, and current renewal fees remain unverified.
Retakes carry a consistent 14-day wait. What the handbook does not settle is the cost: one section describes one free retest and then $99, while another charges for every attempt. Because the handbook contradicts itself, confirm current retake fees and any included free retest with IFSEA before relying on either version. That uncertainty is a good reason to prepare thoroughly for the first sitting.
A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence
Given the 60-day purchase window, sequence your study by question count and difficulty. This is the one place a schedule helps, so keep it tied to the exam's actual structure. For a fuller plan, use our CFA study guide and the one-page CFA cheat sheet for last-minute review.
Food Safety and HACCP
- Start here: 18 questions across two groups
- Memorize temperature and hygiene principles
Food Service Operations
- Largest group at 20 questions
- Cover SOPs, purchasing, inventory, and management basics
Customer Service, Nutrition, Employee Safety
- Three groups of 10 questions each
- Add leadership and communication topics from the specifications list
Culinary Arts, Food Service Math, Timed Review
- Practice four-function calculator problems
- Run timed sets at under a minute per question
When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, try the practice questions on the main practice test site, and use them to check pacing against the 75-minute limit. A final full run-through on the CFA Exam Prep practice tests will show which of the eight groups still needs work.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The current IFSEA program page lists no experience requirement, and the credential is designed for entry-level candidates. An older handbook mentions a manager or director prerequisite, but the live pages take precedence over that legacy wording.
The current training and exam price is $119, or $122.57 when the stated 3% card fee is applied. No separate member or non-member tier is currently published. Older handbook figures such as $99 are not the current price.
No. The 60 days is the time you have from purchase to complete the exam. The exam itself is 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes, with a 70% passing score.
The exam is closed-book and supervised, and study assistance is prohibited. A basic four-function calculator is permitted. A proctor and an integrity form are both required.
The handbook states five-year validity, with renewal by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%, plus a 90-day expiry grace period. There is no fixed CEU quota. Current renewal fees and retake charges should be confirmed with IFSEA, since the handbook is inconsistent on retake costs and specifies a 14-day wait between attempts.