CFA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CFA Certification

TL;DR
  • The Certified Food Associate exam has 80 multiple-choice questions, a 75-minute limit, and a 70% passing score.
  • Food Service Operations is the largest published group at 20 of 80 questions.
  • The current IFSEA page lists $119 (or $122.57 with the 3% card fee) and no experience requirement.
  • You must finish within 60 days of purchase, with a proctor and an integrity form.

What the Certified Food Associate Credential Is

The Certified Food Associate credential is an entry-level food service certification offered through the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA). The exam is administered by the Foodservice Institute under an IFSEA/GFI partnership, and the official exam link runs through ClassMarker. If you have seen the acronym attached to other professional designations, set those aside: this article covers only the Certified Food Associate, and everything below applies to that program alone. For a deeper orientation on the name itself, see What Is CFA Certification? and What Does CFA Stand For?.

The program is designed for people early in their food service careers. According to the current IFSEA page, there is no experience requirement, which makes it accessible to line staff, shift leads, and career changers who want a recognized document showing baseline competence across kitchen, floor, and management fundamentals. A fuller breakdown of eligibility is in CFA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Why the breadth matters: This is not a narrow food-handler card. The question groups span culinary arts, customer service, food safety, HACCP, operations, nutrition, math, and employee safety. A candidate who is strong in the kitchen but has never thought about labor cost or guest recovery will find gaps quickly.

Exam Format and Mechanics

The current-linked candidate handbook specifies the structure of the exam clearly:

ElementWhat the Handbook Specifies
Question count80 multiple-choice questions
Time limit75 minutes
Passing score70%
CalculatorA basic four-function calculator is permitted
SupervisionProctor required; integrity form required; closed-book rules prohibit study assistance
Completion windowWithin 60 days of purchase (not the test duration)

Two details deserve emphasis. First, the 60-day figure is the window in which you must complete the exam after buying it; the test itself is 75 minutes. Mixing those up is a common planning error. Second, the scored versus unscored question split has not been verified, so avoid assuming every item counts or that some are throwaway. Treat all 80 questions as live.

A 70% threshold on 80 questions means you need to answer roughly 56 correctly, though since the split of scored items is unverified, the safest approach is to aim well above that mark. For more on the cut line, see CFA Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

At 75 minutes for 80 items, you have under a minute per question on average. That is comfortable for recall questions on temperatures or definitions, but tighter for anything involving a calculation. The four-function calculator allowance is a clue about where the arithmetic lives, which we cover below under Food Service Math.

The Eight Question Groups and Their Published Counts

The handbook publishes the distribution of the 80 questions as counts across eight groups. It does not publish percentage weights, and no formal blueprint revision date is established, so treat these as the issuer's stated makeup rather than a newly dated weighted blueprint. The counts total 80.

DomainPublished Questions
Food Service Operations20
Food Safety12
Customer Service10
Nutrition10
Operational Employee Safety10
Culinary Arts8
HACCP6
Food Service Math4

For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, the companion piece CFA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas goes deeper. Here is how to think about each group.

Food Service Operations (20 questions)

The single largest group, and the place where the exam leans toward management thinking rather than pure kitchen skill. Roughly one in four questions comes from here.

  • Day-to-day running of a food service unit: scheduling, receiving, storage, and workflow
  • Standard operating procedures and why consistency matters
  • The cost and inventory concepts that connect to the supplementary specification topics

Food Safety (12 questions)

The second-largest group. Expect practical, scenario-flavored items about preventing foodborne illness.

  • Personal hygiene and employee health expectations
  • Time and temperature control, cross-contamination, and cleaning versus sanitizing
  • Safe receiving, storage, and handling practices

HACCP (6 questions)

Small in count, but conceptually dense. Because it is separate from Food Safety, it is easy to under-study and then lose points on vocabulary.

  • The purpose of a hazard-based system versus ad hoc checking
  • Critical control points, monitoring, and corrective action as ideas you should be able to distinguish
  • How records and verification support the system

Customer Service (10 questions)

Often underestimated by kitchen-focused candidates. The handbook treats guest interaction as a core competency.

  • Handling complaints and service recovery
  • Communication and professionalism with guests
  • Understanding what shapes a guest's overall experience

Nutrition (10 questions)

Tested both as its own group and again among the supplementary topics, so expect it to be a meaningful portion of your score.

  • Major nutrients and their roles
  • Basic dietary concepts relevant to menu planning and guest needs
  • Awareness of common dietary restrictions and allergen considerations in service

Operational Employee Safety (10 questions)

Separate from food safety: this group concerns the safety of the people doing the work.

  • Preventing slips, cuts, burns, and lifting injuries
  • Safe equipment use and workplace hazard awareness
  • Federal labor law touchpoints that overlap with the supplementary specification list

Culinary Arts (8 questions)

Largely terminology and technique recognition, consistent with the live page's mention of culinary terminology.

  • Cooking methods and what distinguishes them
  • Kitchen vocabulary, cuts, and preparation terms
  • Basic knife, equipment, and production concepts

Food Service Math (4 questions)

The smallest group, but the only one where your calculator comes into play. Four questions is roughly 5% of the exam by count, and each one is a clean, winnable item if you have practiced the formulas.

  • Portioning, yield, and conversion arithmetic
  • Basic cost and percentage calculations
  • Careful unit handling, since one misplaced unit sinks an otherwise correct setup

Key Takeaway

Do not allocate study time purely by question count. Food Service Operations deserves the most hours, but HACCP and Math are the cheapest points per hour because the scope is narrow and the questions are formulaic. Secure those, then invest the bulk of your time in Operations, Food Safety, and the three 10-question groups.

The Twelve Supplementary Specification Topics

Beyond the eight question groups, the handbook lists twelve Online Exam Specifications topics. These are presented as unweighted scope and are not mapped one-to-one onto the eight groups, so avoid trying to force a neat crosswalk. Read them as a reminder of how wide the knowledge base is:

  • Labor Laws (Federal)
  • Personnel Management
  • Leadership
  • Communication Skills
  • Purchasing
  • Inventory
  • Cost Accounting
  • Standard Operating Procedures
  • Financial Management
  • Strategic Planning
  • Nutrition
  • Culinary Arts

Notice how heavily this list tilts toward management: personnel, leadership, purchasing, inventory, cost accounting, financial management, and strategic planning. Even though the credential is entry-level, the exam expects you to understand how a food service operation is run and paid for, not only how food is cooked and served. That helps explain why Food Service Operations is the largest group. If your background is hands-on production, spend deliberate time on the business-side topics, since those are likelier to be unfamiliar.

Registration, Pricing, and the 60-Day Window

According to the current IFSEA pages, the training and exam price is $119, or $122.57 once the stated 3% card fee is applied. No separate member and non-member pricing tiers are published for the current offer. For a fuller view of costs, see CFA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Watch for conflicting older terms: The candidate handbook PDF carries older language: a $99 price, scheduling within one year, and a manager or director prerequisite. Those conflict with the live IFSEA pages, which take precedence. Rely on the current website for the $119 price, the 60-day completion window, and the absence of an experience requirement. The handbook's PDF metadata is dated July 2022, so it is a useful source for exam structure but not proof of a 2026 revision.

The practical sequence looks like this:

  1. Purchase the training and exam through the official IFSEA/ClassMarker route.
  2. Arrange a proctor, since one is required, and complete the integrity form.
  3. Confirm any remote-supervision arrangement directly with the issuer, since current remote options are unverified.
  4. Sit the exam within 60 days of purchase.

Because the clock starts at purchase, do not buy until you have a realistic plan. Scheduling logistics and windows are discussed in CFA Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Validity, Renewal, and Retakes

The handbook states that certification is valid for five years, and that renewal is accomplished by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%. It is not described as a fixed continuing-education quota. The handbook also describes a 90-day grace period after expiry. Current renewal fees are unverified, so confirm the amount with IFSEA before planning your budget.

On retakes, the handbook consistently specifies a 14-day wait between attempts. It contradicts itself on charges, though: one section describes one free retest followed by a $99 fee, while another charges for every attempt. Because of that internal conflict, treat retake pricing as something to confirm with the issuer before you sit the exam. Do not assume a free second attempt.

The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see quoted elsewhere is not backed by the issuer. For what is and is not known, read CFA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and for a realistic sense of effort, How Hard Is the CFA Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Who Benefits From the Credential

Because there is no experience requirement and the content is broad, the credential suits several kinds of candidates:

  • Early-career food service workers who want to document knowledge across safety, service, and operations.
  • Career changers entering restaurants, catering, institutional dining, or similar settings who lack a formal food service background.
  • Line cooks and servers aiming at supervision, for whom the management-leaning topics offer a structured preview of the next role.
  • Students and trainees building a resume before their first full-time position.

Employers in restaurants, hotels, contract food service, healthcare dining, and school or institutional kitchens commonly value documented food safety and operations knowledge, though the credential does not guarantee a job or a pay increase. For roles and pay context, see CFA Jobs and CFA Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and for a cost-versus-benefit view, Is the CFA Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. If you want a first look at question style before committing, you can try free practice questions on the main practice test site.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains

Generic study techniques matter less here than ordering the content sensibly. One approach that fits the published question counts is to stack the cheap, narrow topics early and give the large groups the longest runway. The full method is laid out in CFA Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt; the sample below shows how the domains might slot into a four-week plan.

Week 1

Safety Foundations

  • Food Safety (12 questions) and HACCP (6 questions), studied together so the vocabulary reinforces itself
  • Operational Employee Safety (10 questions), kept distinct from food safety in your notes
Week 2

Operations Core

  • Food Service Operations (20 questions), the heaviest group
  • Supplementary management topics: purchasing, inventory, cost accounting, SOPs
Week 3

People, Product, and Numbers

  • Customer Service (10) and Nutrition (10)
  • Culinary Arts terminology (8)
  • Food Service Math (4), with calculator drills on yield, cost, and percentages
Week 4

Timed Review

  • Full 80-question practice sets under a 75-minute limit
  • Rework weak groups, then schedule your proctored sitting

The reasoning: Operations gets its own week because it is a quarter of the exam and draws on the broadest supplementary scope. Math gets deliberate drill time despite its four questions, because a small, learnable group is the best return on practice. Finishing with timed sets matters since you have under a minute per question on average. A condensed reference to keep nearby is CFA Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts, and more on training formats is in CFA Training.

Key Takeaway

Remember the exam is closed-book and proctored, with study assistance prohibited. Build recall, not lookup habits. The only tool you may use is a basic four-function calculator, so practice your math without a phone or spreadsheet.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the Certified Food Associate exam?

The current-linked candidate handbook specifies 80 multiple-choice questions with a 75-minute time limit. The scored versus unscored split has not been verified, so prepare as though every question counts.

What score do I need to pass?

The handbook states a passing score of 70%. The observed pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so there is no reliable figure for how many candidates pass on a first attempt.

Do I need food service experience to sit the exam?

The current IFSEA page lists no experience requirement, and the program is designed for entry-level candidates. An older manager or director prerequisite appears in the handbook PDF, but the live website takes precedence.

How much does it cost, and how long do I have to finish?

The current price is $119, or $122.57 with the stated 3% card fee. You must complete the exam within 60 days of purchase. That 60-day figure is a purchase-to-completion window, not the length of the test.

How long does the certification last, and how do I renew it?

The handbook states five-year validity, with renewal by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%, plus a 90-day grace period after expiry. It does not describe a fixed continuing-education requirement, and current renewal fees are unverified, so confirm them with IFSEA.

Ready to pass your CFA exam?

Put this into practice with free CFA questions across every exam domain.